MAKE UP

THE NARS RADIANT CREAMY CONCEALER OBSESSION | REVIEW

Now, you may be looking at the image on this blog post and be thinking “why does this person need 5 shades of the same concealer?”, well I’d have to break it to you that I own only two shades of this! The next thought you may be having is “why are there so many tubes of the stuff then?!”, well my answer to that would be that my love for this concealer is such that I insist on back-ups. I’m also hoarding a couple of tubes which definitely have hit the end of their life span but I still insist on scraping away inside the tube to scavenge out the last few drops (can’t just be me who does that right?!) Melodramatics aside, let me get into why my love of this concealer spans to such great heights….

PRODUCT BACKGROUND

Like every beauty product there are a multitude of claims to this concealer, however in some cases claims to beauty products may be, how can I put this– make up click bait. This is when the claims of the product really don’t live up to the expectations, but fear not, that’s not the case in this instance!

This concealer is described as having a “luxurious texture and luminous finish” with a “medium to high buildable coverage”-both claims which I agree with and can attest to. Nars also states that this concealer is:

“enriched with hydrating, multi-action skincare benefits and light diffusing technology, it creates a softer, smoother complexion while instantly obscuring imperfections and diminishing fine lines and signs of fatigue.”

Forget Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty…obscuring imperfections and signs of fatigue is my kind of fairy-tale!

With regards to ingredients, this concealer is Paraben-free, Alcohol free, Synthetic fragrance free and Non-comedogenic- great for sensitive skin! This comes in 12 shades which cater to  both warmer and cooler undertones. For more product information, and the full list of shades (of which there are great descriptions and visuals) you can check out the Nars website here.

APPLICATION AND SWATCHES

A quick low-down on the shades I use in this: I am NC40 in MAC and find that Ginger (golden undertone for medium complexion) and Biscuit (medium dark natural balance of pink and yellow undertones) both work well for me. Ginger runs warmer than Biscuit, but is lighter in colour, and I find it works well for my under-eyes. Biscuit runs slightly cooler than Ginger in undertone, but still has a slight yellow undertone (don’t be put off by the “pink” description in the shade name- I don’t think that necessarily runs true) and I find this shade works well as a concealer/colour-correcter duo (what dreams are made of!) I find that a mixture of both shades combined work well for concealing on my face. The swatch below can highlight the differences in the shades better than my ramblings can!

1485268121074_1485278239692.png
Swatches of the NARS Radiant Creamy Concealers in Ginger and Biscuit

FORMULA

This concealer definitely lives up to the “creamy” name, I find that it applies smoothly and is super blendable- I find that this works best with a beauty blender, or just the good old ring finger tap tap tap. Although the creamy nature of this may tend to make you think that this transfers and smudges easily, oh no no no (I’m hoping you read that in your best Churchill the dog impression)- after setting this with powder I find that this can last a good 7/8 hours!   This is fairly thick in formula, mainly due to the amount of pigment this has, but again this has no effect on how well this blends! With the claims about being crease-free, I find that under-eye creasing is quite subjective- I have naturally quite creasy undereyes (I know creasy isn’t a word per se but just humour me in this instance), so this concealer will tend to crease after several hours, as that’s the norm for me with any concealer, albeit definitely less with this concealer I find. Take a look at the macro shots I’ve taken below which highlight how creamy the formula of these concealers are! (Ginger on the left, and Biscuit on the right).

PACKAGING

I won’t bore you too much by now, but the Nars packaging is what it is- sleek and minimal! This comes in a glass tube in a rectangular shape (no rolling away here!) The applicator is a doe-foot applicator, which I find is by far the best for concealers as the product is distributed evenly.

img_20170124_183054_212

PRICE

This concealer is definitely on the higher-end of things at £22.50, so it’s definitely an investment beauty product. An investment product for a concealer you may ask? Well, one tube of this lasts absolutely ages for me, with regular use I find I can go about 7/8 months using one tube! If you can get to a Nars counter, definitely give this a swatch to give a feel of how this feels on your skin. You can purchase this online at the official Nars website (here), Space NK (here), John Lewis (here), LookFantastic (here), FeelUnique (here), Selfridges (here)-can’t say I didn’t give you enough options ey (!)

Hope you enjoyed this post! Let me know if you also love this concealer…or don’t! I would love to hear from you in the comments!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

8 thoughts on “THE NARS RADIANT CREAMY CONCEALER OBSESSION | REVIEW

  1. Great detailed post. I myself on the other hand have a love hate relationship with it. I must admit Biscuit does look very promising! If I wasn’t staunch on never picking up another tube I would’ve given it a go but Urban Decay is on my radar at the moment once I empty my current Nars Ginger off. Xxx

    Like

  2. Your macro shots are EVERYTHING!!! Sadly, this concealer was a disappointment for me. It’s not creamy enough for me and always dries out my under-eyes. Still using mine up; I think it’s coming to an end but I won’t be repurchasing. xxx
    Sal | UmmBaby Beauty

    Like

Leave a comment